Safety Excellence Award

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes Section 38-617, "[a] board of supervisors may adopt rules to provide employee safety recognition awards with terms and conditions deemed appropriate by the board for the safe operation of county government."

In furtherance of the goal of the above statute, and to recognize County employees who display an outstanding attitude regarding safety, the Risk Management Department presented Resolution 06-55 to the Yuma County Board of Supervisors on September 6, 2006 for approval. On that date, the Board unanimously approved the resolution authorizing the establishment of the Yuma County Safety Recognition Award. It was an annual award presented during the employee awards ceremony held each April. Years later, on July 18, 2016, the County enhanced the program by adding recognition awards each quarter and renaming the program the Yuma County Safety Excellence Award. Any employee can nominate another County employee for the award by completing the nomination form below.

Yuma County Safety Excellence Award Nomination Form

Yuma County Safety Excellence Award Program Description

The following is a list of winners of the award:


Winner: Lou Miranda, Development Services


Winner: Mike LeBrun, Health District


Winner: Pete Sanchez, Information Technology Services


Winner: Lana Heston, Library District


Winner: Mike Eslinger, Juvenile Court


Winner: Roxanna Nuñez, Information Technology Services


Winner: David Rico, General Services


Winner: April Riedel, Public Fiduciary


Winner: Robert Torres, Adult Probation


Winner: Danny Marron, Library District


Quarterly Winners: Michael K. Coolidge, Sr., General Services; Brian Franssen, Library District

Annual Winner: Jeffery Weeks, Information Technology Services

Online Help Center

  • Leave Us a Message
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory