About Us

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Mission Statement 

The Justice Courts in Yuma County strive to provide justice and due process under the law to all within their jurisdiction and treat all persons with dignity, and respect.

The Justice of the Peace (JP) Courts are county courts and are part of the State of Arizona Judicial System. The Arizona State Constitution, Article VI, and Arizona Revised Statues, Title 22 provide the courts the mandate for the administration of justice. Vacancies are filled through appointment by the Board of Supervisors. 

Each county's board of supervisors sets the geographical boundaries, known as precinct Justice of the Peace courts. Generally, these precincts are larger that cities and towns and may contain more than one city or township. Although these geographical boundaries can be changed, a precinct cannot be abolished until the four-year term of the judge called a Justice of the Peace expires. The number of precincts in a county is determined by the County Board of Supervisors.  


Yuma County presently is served by three precincts named for the city in which the court is located.

  • Yuma (Precinct 1)  
  • South County (Precinct 2)  
  • Wellton (Precinct 3)

Online Help Center

  • Leave Us a Message
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory