Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Yuma County earns national achievement awards for Public Housing Program & new Website

Post Date:05/03/2017 5:00 PM


Yuma County has been recognized with two Achievement Awards from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that enhance services for residents.

NACo recognized the:

  1. Public Housing and Section 8 Voucher Family Self-Sufficiency Program in the category of Community and Economic Development and,
  2. Yuma County – At Your Service – Website becomes Customer Service Portal” in the category of Civic Education and Public Information.

County Administrator Susan Thorpe stated, “The Housing Family Self-Sufficiency Program was recognized for its success in helping residents pursue higher education and obtain job training, which leads them to a better lifestyle and ultimately to self-sufficiency.”

Since 2005, 56 participants completed the program and they moved on as either self-sufficient or homeowners. An average of 10 participants per year have graduated from the YCHD’s Family Self-Sufficiency Programs and an average of 5 FSS participants achieve a GED, an Associate’s Degree or a Certification.  These percentages represent the number of families improving their lives and improving their future lives.

As for the website award, County Administrator Susan Thorpe stated, “One reason we got this award is an innovative feature of our new website at Every page of the website features the “Online Help Center” overlay on the right side of the page. The chat function is supported by county employees during normal business hours and can relay messages during off hours. Further, the home page and every department/agency home page features widgets focusing users to the TOP 10-20% requested content from those areas.”

NACo President Bryan Desloge said, “Counties overcome complex challenges, provide essential services and constantly do more with less. We applaud these Achievement Award-winning counties for outstanding efforts to improve residents’ quality of life.”

Nationally, awards are given in 18 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice, county administration, information technology, health, civic engagement and many more.

NACo will recognize award-winning counties at its 2017 Annual Conference and Exposition July 21–24 in Franklin County, Ohio. 

Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Award Program is designed to recognize innovative county government programs.
Return to full list >>

Online Help Center

  • Leave Us a Message
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory