Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Yuma County Employee of the Year, Safety Excellence Award recipient to be announced April 29th

Post Date:04/03/2017 9:30 AM

kjtFive employees from Yuma County have been nominated for the 2016 Employee of the Year Award sponsored by the Yuma County Board of Supervisors.  This program recognizes Yuma County employees for providing exceptional public service to the citizens of Yuma County.  The Yuma County Employee of the Year will be announced during the Annual Yuma County Employee of the Year Dinner and Dance, held at the Yuma Civic & Convention Center, 5:00 p.m., Saturday, April 29, 2017. 

The 2016 Yuma County Employee of the Year nominees are:

Christina Charles                     Juvenile Justice Center        Family Support Specialist
Nancy Gray Eade                   Superior Courts                     Conciliation Court Manager
Miriam Galindo                       Health District                        Immunizations Office Supervisor
Ana Navejar                            Development Services          Senior Right of Way Agent
Lauren P. Regenhardt             Library District                       Teen Services Manager

Candidates are chosen for meeting any, or all, of the following criteria:

  • Full-time Yuma County employees that have at least two years of County service by December 31, 2016 and no disciplinary actions during the preceding two years.
  • Promotes the County’s Core Values.
  • Maintains a “Meets” or equivalent performance rating during the last two review periods.
  • Develops demonstrable cost savings to the County through idea(s) or suggestion(s).
  • Demonstrates exceptional community service.

Most of the 1,400 Yuma County employees were eligible to be nominated.  Nominations were screened by a “Merit Award System Board” that is appointed by the Yuma County Board of Supervisors.  The Yuma County Employee of the Year will receive a plaque and an award of $1,000 (after taxes). The remaining nominees split another $1,000.

On top of the annual Yuma County Employee of the Year award, the Yuma County Board of Supervisors will decide the recipient of the 2016 Yuma County Safety Excellence Award. The Safety Excellence Award is both a quarterly and annual award. The Safety Excellence Award Committee screens all nominations and forwards the final candidates to the Yuma County Merit Award Board. From there, the Merit Board reviews and makes a final recommendation of the award winner to the Board of Supervisor.

The 2016 Yuma County Safety Excellence Award nominees are:

Deborah Byrd                                   Sheriff’s Office             Laundry Worker II
Esteban Caudillo                              Sheriff’s Office             Detention Officer
Michael K. Coolidge Sr.                    General Services         Custodian
Steve Deupree                                  Public Works              Equipment Operator
Brian Franssen                                  Library District            Information Services Supervisor
Francisca Murrietta                           Library District             Library Branch Supervisor
Thomas Ruelle                                  Sheriff’s Office            Detention Office
Jeff Weeks                                         ITS                              Enterprise Storage Systems Manager

Winners of the quarterly safety award receive a plaque and $100. The winner of the 2016 Yuma County Safety Excellence Award receives a plaque and $250.
Return to full list >>

Online Help Center

  • Leave Us a Message
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory