Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

County Supervisors reappoint Chair and Vice Chair

Post Date:01/07/2019 2:15 PM

Supervisor Tony Reyes          Supervisor Russell McCloud
Chairman                          Vice Chairman

Yuma County Board of Supervisors unanimously reappointed District 4 Supervisor Tony Reyes as Chairman and District 2 Supervisor Russell McCloud as Vice Chairman during today’s meeting of the Yuma County Board of Supervisors.

At the beginning of the year, the Board chooses from its members a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson to serve during the ensuing year. The Chairperson presides at Board meetings, signs documents in the name of the County and represents the Board at various ceremonies and events. The Vice Chairperson substitutes when the Chairperson is absent. 

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the county and a number of special districts. Within the limits of state law, the Board is empowered to adopt ordinances, establish programs, levy taxes, appropriate funds, appoint certain officials, and zone property and regulate development in the unincorporated area. In addition, members of the Board represent the County on numerous intergovernmental agencies. 

Five members of the board are elected to serve four-year terms. Each is elected from one of the five supervisory districts of the county. District boundaries are adjusted after every federal census to equalize district population.

Return to full list >>

Online Help Center

  • Online Chat
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory