Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Yuma County earns national achievement award for Enterprise Risk Management, Hispanic Heritage Art Exhibition

Post Date:05/09/2018 3:00 PM

Achievement Award Winner Seal

Yuma County has been recognized with two Achievement Awards from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that enhance services for residents.

NACo recognized:

1) Risk Management for its program titled “Enterprise Risk Management: Addressing Uncertainty, Improving Decision-Making” in the category of Risk and Emergency Management, and

2) the Yuma County Library District, San Luis Branch, for its program titled “Hispanic Heritage Art Exhibition” in the category of Libraries.

“Yuma County has a commitment to being one of the best-managed counties in the country,” says Susan Thorpe, Yuma County Administrator. “It is for that reason we continue to innovate and provide community outreach to improve our services.”

The success of any organization depends upon how well it addresses the uncertainties that affect its objectives. Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) has been an effective tool that has helped Yuma County manage uncertainty across the organization, leading to improvements in operations and decision-making. Through the active participation of County employees in the ERM program, the County has saved money, allocated resources more efficiently, attained strategic objectives, analyzed and treated its risks, and improved interdepartmental and intergovernmental communication.

The 2017 Hispanic Heritage Art Exhibition had 1,699 visitors, including school tours, which broke all previous records. 34 artists were featured, and 164 works of art were displayed. As a direct result, an Artists’ Club has been organized which meets weekly. This is especially helpful in the City of San Luis where there are no art galleries. The exhibit also encourages patrons to visit the library for a community event and learn about books, resources, and programs available. 

NACo President Roy Charles Brooks said, “Counties seize opportunities to deliver services more efficiently and build stronger communities every day. Achievement Award-winning programs are examples for counties that are determined to enhance services for our residents.”

Nationally, awards are given in 18 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice, county administration, information technology, health, civic engagement and many more.

NACo will recognize award-winning counties at its 2018 Annual Conference and Exposition July 13-16 in Nashville/Davidson County, Tennessee. 

Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Awards program is designed to recognize county government innovations. Each nominee is judged on its own merits and not against other applications received.

Return to full list >>

Online Help Center

  • Leave Us a Message
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory