Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Yuma County Employee of the Year, Court Employee of the Year and Safety Excellence Award recipient to be announced

Post Date:03/15/2018 4:00 PM

Facebook BIG tease (2)

Six employees from Yuma County have been nominated for the 2017 Employee of the Year Award and 4 employees for the 2017 Superior Court Employee of the Year sponsored by the Yuma County Board of Supervisors. The County will also decide who the 2017 Safety Excellence Award recipient will be out of a field of 13 nominees.

The Yuma County Employee of the Year and Superior Court Employee of the Year programs recognize employees for providing exceptional public service to the citizens of Yuma County.  The winners will be announced during a recognition event to be held at the Yuma Art Center, 3:30 – 5:00 PM, Wednesday, April 11, 2018.

The 2017 Yuma County Employee of the Year nominees are:

  • Jessica Arciniega – Human Resources, Employment Specialist
  • Dorey Conway – Library, Branch Manager
  • Ana Duarte – Sheriff’s Office, Detention Sergeant
  • Dennis Owen – Health District, Animal Control Supervisor
  • Nancy Ngai – County Administration, Community Planning Coordinator
  • Richard Zavala – Housing, Facilities Maintenance Worker III

The 2017 Yuma County Superior Court Employee of the Year nominees are:

  • Lindsay Caraway – Superior Court, Bailiff Supervisor/Assistant Caseflow Manager
  • Robert Guzman – Juvenile Court, Education Paraprofessional
  • Teresa Piedra – Justice Court, Chief Clerk
  • Lucia Rodriguez – Adult Probation, Probation Services Supervisor

Candidates are chosen for meeting the following criteria and only one candidate nomination is allowed per department:

  • Must be a full-time employee with a minimum of two years of service by December 31, 2017.
  • Must have received a “Meets Expectations” or greater performance rating during the last two review periods.
  • Must show evidence of having promoted the County’s core values or Superior Court Judicial Cannons.
  • Developed demonstrable cost savings to the County or Superior Court through ideas or suggestions.

Nominations will be screened by a “Merit Award System Board” that is appointed by the Yuma County Board of Supervisors.  Each first place winner will receive a plaque and an award of $1,000 (after taxes). The remaining nominees split an additional $1,000.

The Yuma County Board of Supervisors will also decide the recipient of the 2017 Yuma County Safety Excellence Award. The Safety Excellence Award is both a quarterly and annual award.

The 2017 Yuma County Safety Excellence Annual Award nominees are: 

  • Emmanuel Alvarez - Sheriff’s Office
  • Isaac Barragan - Public Works
  • Desarae Doten – Administration Office
  • Lana Heston – Library District
  • Robert Hunter – Sheriff’s Office
  • Kelly Fricke – Public Works
  • Lisa Mendez – Library District
  • David Rico – General Services
  • Jesus “Chuy” Salazar – Public Works
  • Ramon “Ray” Salcido – Public Works
  • Richard Sandoval – Public Defender
  • LeeAnne Stansbury – Financial Services
  • Candy Wheeler-Ruby – Public Fiduciary

Candidates are chosen for meeting any, or all, of the following criteria:

  • Scores a “Meets Expectations” or greater performance rating during the most recent review period.
  • Full-time employment and have at least one year of service and no disciplinary actions during the previous year.
  • Initiates safety practices that produce cost savings to the County.
  • Demonstrates an exceptional awareness and appreciation for safety and contributes to the development and implementation of safety programs in the workplace.
  • Supports the efforts of the Safety Compliance Officer to increase workplace health and safety, eliminate hazardous conditions, and maintain compliance with local, state and federal regulations.
  • Is a champion of safety principles and encourages fellow employees to view safety as a necessary and beneficial part of all operations.

The Safety Excellence Award Committee screens all nominations and forwards the final candidates to the Yuma County Merit Award System Board. From there, the Merit Board reviews and makes a final recommendation of the award winner to the Board of Supervisors.

Winners of the Quarterly Safety Award receive a prize and $100 (after taxes). The winner of the 2017 Yuma County Safety Excellence Award will receive a recognition plaque and $250 (after taxes).

Online Help Center

  • Online Chat
  • Submit a Service Request
  • County Directory